Finally, progress!

Good news to report: Tomorrow I go into the application support center to provide my biometrics, i.e. finger prints and passport photo for my UK visa. Yesterday I filled out my online visa application, today my visa paperwork (appendix) that gets mailed to the British consulate in NYC. Now I wait for confirmation emails from my advisers at my schools to confirm I’m not required to send in official loan paperwork and my official diploma from UO. There are disclaimers that students from low-risk nationalities (including USA) applying to highly trusted sponsors (including University of Greenwich) may not HAVE to send originals, but must travel with them in case they want to inspect them. I prefer not to send my diploma, I only have one! :)

Surfers abound near Huntington City Pier

Image via Wikipedia

In the meantime I’m trying to relax in Huntington Beach, eating, shopping, and hopefully going to the beach soon. The weather has been mild, and overcast until afternoon, although it’s more humid than I remember.

When I get home I have to meet with people about taking my pets. It’s hard to field calls from people wanting to adopt my dog. I don’t want him to go anywhere but with me, but I’ve made the hard decision to give him to someone with more time to devote, since I’m looking forward to jumping head-first into school. It great to be going into it ready and excited for the work, knowing what I want from it, aware of how I want to use it. So different from under-grad! So glad I took years off. I never intended it to be 4.5, but I wouldn’t be this ready if I had gone back any sooner.

I’ve spent some time looking at rentals over the past week. Looks like sharing a room will cost me approximately $400-600/month, while renting my own place runs closer to $1000 for something quite nice, and possibly slightly less for something decent. Haven’t seen anything that allows pets. Guess I’ll be getting roommates. Hope they’re nice!

As soon as my visa application process is complete I buy plane tickets. No one I’ve been contacting seems concerned with the timing, and prices haven’t changed much over the past 6 weeks. I can fly out of Eugene or Portland for around the same cost, since Eugene has connections through Salt Lake City, which is a big international connection. It will be weird to get fully adjusted to the time change this time around!

I’m having a going-away potluck next week on Thursday, August 25th 2-10PM. I would love to see you, stop in or stay for the afternoon! Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

