Today’s Osteopathic Inspiration

“The challenge is not just about the work, and the delivery of what the patient wants. It’s how far can I stay present and open and aware throughout the treatment, a practice of being present and being available.”

I’ve taken this quote from Sue Turner, an osteopath and alumni of the ESO who has an interview posted on http://1000yearsinterviews.com/sue_turner/turner.swf , a website I highly recommend for anyone in the field, interested becoming an osteopath, treating with an osteopath, or learning more about what it is and the philosophy behind it. In this interview Sue makes many references to heavyweights in the field, and parts of it get quite academic. But there are also parts that really resonate with my perspective of my role as a healthcare provider, the innate wisdom of the body, and some radical ways she visualizes her practice. Totally recommend this for my functional methods classmates, if you’re reading! :)